Lambda Inc. has raised about $1 billion in private, short-dated debt to buy Nvidia AI chips that it will lease to Microsoft, according to a Bloomberg report published on August 28, 2026 that TechCrunch carried the same day. JPMorgan Chase & Co. arranged the transaction and marketed it to private placement investors, whose names and individual allocations were not disclosed. Lambda, Inc., which company announcements describe as San Francisco-based and founded in 2012, has disclosed three debt financings in 2026: a $1 billion secured credit facility closed in May 2026, a $926 million senior secured term loan B announced as closed on August 27, 2026, and this private placement. Pricing, maturity and collateral terms were not disclosed.
TechCrunch reported on 2026-08-28T20:24:11+00:00, citing Bloomberg, that JPMorgan Chase & Co. arranged the financing; Bloomberg reported that the debt was marketed to private placement investors. A representative for JPMorgan declined to comment, while representatives for Lambda, Nvidia Corp. and Microsoft Corp. did not immediately respond to requests for comment, according to Bloomberg. Lambda had not confirmed the Bloomberg account as of August 28, 2026. Proceeds finance Nvidia GPUs Microsoft will lease under an agreement Lambda announced on November 3, 2025 covering tens of thousands of chips. It is Lambda’s third disclosed debt financing of 2026 and its fourth disclosed financing since the February 2025 Series D. Its prior equity raise, a $1.5 billion Series E announced on November 18, 2025, was led by TWG Global, with participation from Thomas Tull’s US Innovative Technology Fund, according to The Wall Street Journal.
Contracted GPU leases drive the borrowings
Lambda rents access to Nvidia graphics processing units and builds AI supercomputers, branding itself the Superintelligence Cloud, and competes with CoreWeave Inc. and Nebius Group N.V. Its edge in the debt market is contractual structure rather than chip ownership. The $926 million senior secured first lien term loan B that Lambda announced closing on August 27, 2026 was priced at SOFR + 3.00%, matures December 31, 2030 and carries a fully amortizing repayment profile aligned with contracted cash flows and the useful life of the GPUs, Lambda’s August 27, 2026 announcement said. Lambda described it as the first investment-grade-rated term loan B executed by a private neocloud, with a Baa2 rating from Moody’s. TechCrunch reported the facility funds Nvidia GB300 GPUs for a deployment Lambda is under contract to provide Nvidia. Michel Combes, named chief executive officer in the August 27, 2026 release, said: “Closing this Facility puts capital straight to work, funding infrastructure to which our customer is already committed.”
Investment-grade rating marks a first
Lender disclosure is thin. Bloomberg listed Lambda’s backers as TWG Global, Andra Capital, Scott Hassan’s family office SGW, OpenAI co-founder Andrej Karpathy, ARK Invest and Nvidia Corp., without disclosing individual stakes. Crunchbase put Lambda’s total equity and debt funding at $3.2 billion as of November 21, 2025. Insider participation by existing shareholders in the new placement was not disclosed. The closest comparable is CoreWeave Inc.’s $8.5 billion delayed draw term loan facility, DDTL 4.0, which Zacks reported on April 1, 2026 was the first loan backed by high-performance computing assets to receive investment-grade ratings, an A3 from Moody’s. Lambda’s last verified post-money valuation was $5.43 billion, per PitchBook data cited by TechCrunch, up from an estimated $2.5 billion at its February 2025 Series D — $5.43 billion ÷ $2.5 billion = about 2.2 times. An implied revenue multiple is unknown; no verified comparable revenue multiple was available in verified sources as of August 28, 2026.
Valuation step-up and lender disclosure
The deal reflects a broader shift of AI infrastructure funding into the loan market. Bloomberg-compiled data cited by TechCrunch puts AI-related debt raised by banks and technology companies globally in 2026 so far at over $400 billion. A separate Bloomberg report dated August 10, 2026 put debt raised by Wall Street banks and technology firms at nearly $600 billion globally over a period the outlet described as “since last year.” Bloomberg reported on August 24, 2026 that Lambda has received multiple term sheets for as much as $3 billion at a valuation of as much as $12 billion or more, possibly ahead of an initial public offering in 2027, and that people close to the company expect Lambda to earn more than $1.5 billion in revenue in 2026. Combes said in the same release: “We expect to return to this market as we scale.”
Risks cluster around repayment sequencing. Lambda has not disclosed revenue, burn rate or cash balances, and short-dated debt requires the chips to be deployed and invoiced on schedule. The pre-IPO round is unsigned: Bloomberg reported on August 24, 2026 that terms had not been finalized and that Lambda did not respond to a request for comment. Pricing, maturity, collateral and prepayment terms for the $1 billion placement were not disclosed. Source caveats: Bloomberg’s August 28 report rests on anonymous sources, TechCrunch’s account rests on that same Bloomberg reporting, and Lambda’s August 12 and August 27, 2026 releases are company-issued. Leadership attribution also differs — Stephen Balaban was quoted as Lambda’s chief executive on November 3, 2025, while the August 27, 2026 release names Michel Combes.
What the debt path means next
How much debt has Lambda raised in 2026? Lambda has disclosed three financings: a $1 billion senior secured credit facility announced in May 2026, a $926 million senior secured term loan B priced August 12, 2026 and closed August 27, 2026, and about $1 billion of private short-dated debt reported by Bloomberg on August 28, 2026. Each is tied to GPU infrastructure for a contracted customer. Who arranged the $1 billion and who provided it? JPMorgan Chase & Co. arranged the deal and marketed it to private placement investors, according to Bloomberg. The investors were not named and per-investor amounts were not disclosed. What will the money buy? Nvidia graphics processing units that Microsoft Corp. will lease under an infrastructure agreement Lambda announced on November 3, 2025 covering tens of thousands of GPUs. What is Lambda’s valuation and is an IPO coming? The last verified post-money valuation was $5.43 billion, from the $1.5 billion Series E announced November 18, 2025, per PitchBook data cited by TechCrunch. Bloomberg reported on August 24, 2026 that talks are underway for as much as $3 billion at as much as $12 billion or more, potentially ahead of a 2027 IPO (REPORTED). How much revenue does Lambda generate? Bloomberg reported on August 24, 2026, citing people with knowledge, that Lambda is expected to earn more than $1.5 billion in revenue in 2026; Lambda had not confirmed that as of August 28, 2026 (REPORTED). Lambda’s disclosed 2026 debt financings are each tied to a contracted GPU deployment rather than speculative capacity, with the newest about $1 billion placement earmarked for Nvidia chips leased to Microsoft. The unresolved risk is sequencing: short-dated debt repaid from lease revenue assumes on-time delivery, and the $3 billion pre-IPO round reported by Bloomberg on August 24, 2026 remains unsigned. A closed equity round at the discussed range would be the clearest verified marker of how lenders and shareholders price neocloud GPU contracts.
Lambda Inc. Company Glance
Founded: 2012
HQ: San Francisco, California
Industry: AI Infrastructure / Neocloud
Total disclosed funding: $3.2 billion (equity + debt as of Nov 21, 2025)
Customers: Microsoft Corp.
Competitors: CoreWeave Inc., Nebius Group N.V.
Latest reported valuation: $5.43 billion post-money (Nov 2025)
| Round | Date | Amount | Lead | Valuation | Co-Investors |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series D | Feb 2025 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | $2.5 billion (estimated) | Undisclosed |
| Series E | Nov 18, 2025 | $1.5 billion | TWG Global | $5.43 billion (post-money) | Thomas Tull’s US Innovative Technology Fund |
| Debt – Credit Facility | May 2026 | $1 billion | Not disclosed | N/A | Not disclosed |
| Debt – Term Loan B | Aug 27, 2026 | $926 million | Not disclosed | N/A | Not disclosed (Baa2 rated from Moody’s) |
| Debt – Private Placement | Aug 28, 2026 (reported) | ~$1 billion | JPMorgan Chase & Co. (arranger) | N/A | Private placement investors (undisclosed) |
Frequently Asked Questions
What does Lambda Inc. do?
Lambda Inc. is a San Francisco-based neocloud founded in 2012. It builds AI supercomputers and rents access to Nvidia graphics processing units, branding itself the Superintelligence Cloud. It competes with CoreWeave and Nebius and leases GPU capacity to customers like Microsoft, with contracted cash flows funding its debt and expansion. Lambda also operates GPU clusters for AI training and inference.
How much debt has Lambda Inc. raised in 2026?
Lambda Inc. has disclosed three debt financings in 2026: a $1 billion secured credit facility closed in May, a $926 million senior secured term loan B closed on August 27, and about $1 billion in private short-dated debt reported by Bloomberg on August 28. All are tied to contracted GPU infrastructure for customers.
Who arranged Lambda’s $1 billion debt and who provided it?
JPMorgan Chase & Co. arranged the transaction and marketed it to private placement investors, according to Bloomberg. The investors’ names and individual allocations were not disclosed. A JPMorgan representative declined to comment, while Lambda and Nvidia did not immediately respond to requests for comment. The deal funds Nvidia GPUs that Microsoft will lease under a November 2025 agreement.
What will the money buy?
The proceeds finance Nvidia graphics processing units that Microsoft Corp. will lease under an infrastructure agreement Lambda announced on November 3, 2025. The agreement covers tens of thousands of chips, deployed in Lambda’s AI supercomputers. This is part of Lambda’s strategy to expand its contracted GPU infrastructure for AI workloads.
What is Lambda’s valuation and is an IPO coming?
The last verified post-money valuation was $5.43 billion from the $1.5 billion Series E announced November 18, 2025, per PitchBook. Bloomberg reported on August 24, 2026 that Lambda has received multiple term sheets for as much as $3 billion at a valuation of $12 billion or more, possibly ahead of a 2027 IPO. Terms are not finalized.


